Skip to main content
Charity news

Charity AngelsFounded in 2021, Charity Angels was originally the Fundraising Committee for Breast Cancer Care’s annual fashion show, The Show, in London. This spectacular annual event was unique as every model in The Show had received a diagnosis of breast cancer and every person in the audience knew the battles that the models had fought to be there. In nearly 20 years The Committee was instrumental in raising over £7,500,000 for Breast Cancer Care. Following the merger of Breast Cancer Care and the decision to produce The Show in a different format, The Committee’s services were no longer required. This is where their story begins.

In June 2021 the members of The Committee unanimously agreed to form an organisation to support smaller breast cancer charities and local initiatives with proceeds from events being split equally. There would be no overheads, Committee members would volunteer their time and their supporters would know where their donations would be going. Their two chosen charities in 2021 are Against Breast Cancer, a charity that funds research into secondary breast cancer and Bob Potter’s Charity Trust. Events and fundraising activities will be held to support smaller charities and local charities. Details of 2022 events will be released via social media in due course.

Lesley’s Lunch, 14th November 2021

This inaugural event is in honour of Lesley Seville, a member of Breast Cancer Care’s Show Committee and a model in 2008. Lesley contracted secondary breast cancer and passed away in 2020. The event details are as below:

Lesley’s Lunch - Book the date!

Date: 14th November 2021
Venue: Lakeside Country Club, Frimley Green
Featuring: Fashion show, with models who have all received a diagnosis of breast cancer
Live entertainment with Tony Christie
Live auction

Charity Angels has as its Ambassadors Jacqui Beltrao, Sky sports presenter and former Olympic gymnast who has experience of breast cancer and Tony Hatch OBE, composer and song writer, whose wife Maggie modelled in Breast Cancer Care’s 2011 show.

The Committee is led by Christine Sturgess (Chair) and is comprised of Glynnis Billet, Diana De Vuyst, Siobhan Dodds-Cruickshank, Stephanie Harrison, Maggie Hatch, Tony Hatch OBE, Jane Hinnrichs, Tracey Krieger, Susannah Kraft, Maggie Lawrence (Secretary), Frances Le Tissier, Julia Lynn (Vice Chair), Sarah Mills, Shirley Pinder, Miriam Rosier, Jackie Scheuringer, and Sally Whitson Dawe.

For further information and/or to make a donation please contact Christine Sturgess.